New School, New Semester, New Habit.

Hi there!

I hope this finds you well!

I just firstly need to declare that I’m very proud of my two scallywags! They went off to their new schools ever so bravely last Monday. (Unlike me, the mess!) I wanted to get on that bus with them, see where they sat and who they spoke to, if anyone. I wanted be a fly on the wall in their classrooms, ring them throughout the day to ask if they were ok and watch how others treated them. I wished they’d make friends easily, hoped they’d like their teachers (and that their teachers would like them!), wondered how they’d cope with being back in a school environment (after having been out of one for so long) and just that everyone would be really nice! Despite having spent the last six months with the children and really, REALLY looking forward to having time to myself, I watched the clock all of that first day wondering what they’d be doing at that moment! I then waited at the window in the afternoon watching out for the school bus, just so eager for their return!! (Crazy woman!)

They came back really chilled, “Yeah, had a good day”. Right. Ok. That’s good. (Phew!)

Anyway, I decided that if A&A were starting something new then I would start something new too! That and the fact a cold sore decided to appear (meaning low immunity and emotional stress!) It was definitely time to get back on top! So I returned to an old habit: LEMON WATER!

Why? There are soooooo many good reasons: it reduces inflammation, cuts through phlegm, aids digestion, boosts energy, helps the immune system work at its best (yay!), assists in reducing colds and viruses (!) and decreases “bad” cholesterol. Plus, and probably most importantly, it helps avoid the accumulation of acid waste in our bodies. (Acid waste?!) Yup! So how can acidic lemons help get rid of acid waste? Well, though lemon juice outside are body is acidic, once we’ve drunk it and it’s inside our body, it quite brilliantly becomes alkaline-forming.  So why is it so important for us to be less acidic? Because in the long-term a permanently acidic state can damage our normal cell structures and functions, which in turn can cause a whole heap of nasty health issues. And we don’t want that! So, as Hippocrates said:

Let food be thy medicine and let thy medicine be food

But it’s not just our diets that affect our acidity levels. Lack of exercise, repressed emotions and ciggies can all make us waaaaay too acidic. Emotional stress plays its part too (like moving house…and country!) by releasing acid-forming hormones into our system. (By the way – some of the things I’ve brought up in previous posts are great little tools for any DIY ‘working through emotional stuff’ kit.)

So, from here on in, I’m definitely adopting a daily lemon water habit! If you fancy joining me……I just squeeze the juice of 1/4 lemon into lukewarm, filtered water and drink it every morning before breakfast. Then I take great pleasure in knowing that all those lovely cells of mine are being drenched in alkalinity!


One little habit…..one mighty detox!

That’s it for now! Take good care!

Until next time…..!

Yx

4 thoughts on “New School, New Semester, New Habit.

  1. I’m so glad the kids liked their new school. It makes such a difference! I’m not sure if it has the same effect as your lemon water but I put lemon juice in my breakfast smoothie every morning. I make enough for four servings and use the juice of two lemons. I may not be getting the same health benefits but I like the taste!!!

    Like

Leave a comment